80 days until the election . . . let’s learn from our children!


As a first time New Mexico State Senate District 23 candidate (Northwest Albuquerque), I am totally inspired to meet the thousands of voters in my district as I go door to door. This is grassroots democracy at its finest. Not only that, the basic human kindness and warmth embodied by the diverse residents I meet gives me tremendous hope for both the future of this state and the future of our country.

Several days a week I do lunch recess duty at my elementary school Today the second grade students I watch truly demonstrated hope for the future. African-American, Hispanic, Native American, Vietnamese and white, seven boys and girls played tag around one of our slides. Hilariously laughing together, cooperating as they worked out the rules for the day, these seven year olds modeled what we want our country to be, a place where equality, respect, appreciation, and joy underlie our daily work. The work of children is both school and play. Let us adults learn from our precious future leaders.

Leave a Reply

